This article describes how to restore deleted files and folders, which were deleted by mistake or are still needed from the recycle bin of a data room.
Who is allowed to restore deleted files/folders from the recycle bin?
The restoring user must have the two permissions Read deleted items and file versions and Restore deleted items and file versions in the data room from whose recycle bin is to be restored. These permissions are included in the Edit group of permissions.
Restore deleted files or folders
- Open the data room where the items to be restored were located before deletion (required, as each data room has its own recycle bin).
- Click the button next to the path bar and then click Recycle bin in the menu.
- In the recycle bin, select the file or folder you want to restore. You can also select multiple files or folders to restore them in one step.
Search in recycle bin
You can search the recycle bin to quickly locate the item you want to restore. Several search criteria are available to narrow down the search result:
- Name: Enter a part of the file or folder name you are looking for (e.g. name of the deleted file).
- Type: Allows to specify the type of the deleted item (file or folder—e.g. to search for deleted folders).
- Location: Allows to limit the search for deleted items to a folder in the data room (e.g. useful if the data room is very large and you know in which folder the deleted file was originally located).
- Creation date: Allows to display only deleted items created (uploaded for the first time) in the selected period in the data room.
- Date of change: Allows to display only deleted items that were last modified in the selected period in the data room.
Deleted item not found? The retention period of files in the recycle bin may be limited!
The room administrator of your data room may have specified that files are automatically deleted from the recycle bin after a certain number of days. If you cannot find a file to be restored in the recycle bin, it may have been automatically deleted in the meantime.
- Click Restore in the right side pane.
If an error message is displayed after the restore attempt:
- If an error message is displayed after clicking Restore, the items could not be restored, e.g. because the original folder in which the item to be restored no longer exists. In this case, click Restore to in the right side pane. Then you can select another, existing folder or data room to which the deleted items are to be restored.