This article explains how to delete a data room from DRACOON that is no longer needed. This also deletes all subspaces of the data room, if any.
Who may delete data rooms?
- Data rooms located on the top level in DRACOON may be deleted only by those users who have the role Room administrator.
- Data rooms below an existing data room (i.e. sub-rooms) may only be deleted by the room administrators of the superordinate data room, i.e. the data room in which the data room to be deleted is located. Users who only have the role of room manager but are not room administrators in this room are not allowed to delete any subrooms there.
- The deletion of a data room cannot be reversed.
- When you delete a data room, all subspaces of the room are also deleted, if they exist. This is the case even if you have no permissions on the subspaces.
- On the DRACOON Cloud, a deleted data room can be restored by the DRACOON team for 30 days in an emergency. Since this measure is associated with a high technical effort, this service is subject to a fee.
Deleting a data room
- Click the button to the right of the path navigation bar and then click Show all data rooms in the menu:
What does "Show all data rooms" do?
By default, DRACOON displays only the data rooms that you can use yourself (i.e. in which you have permissions, e.g. to upload).
However, as a room manager, for example, you may delete all data rooms on the top level - even rooms in which you have no permissions.
The Show All Data Rooms command now causes all existing data rooms to be listed so that you can select the desired room for deletion, even if you do not have permissions in it.
If Show All Data Spaces is enabled, data spaces that you can delete but not use yourself are displayed in light gray so that you can distinguish them from your usable spaces.
- Select the data room you want to delete.
- Click Delete in the right sidebar or in the context menu.
- To avoid accidental deletion of data rooms, DRACOON displays an urgent warning that the deletion cannot be undone.
- Make sure you have selected the correct data room to delete. Then use the mouse to drag the security slider all the way to the right.
- Click the Delete button (this can only be clicked after you have moved the security slider all the way to the right).
- The data room is irrevocably deleted along with any sub-rooms that may exist, and the storage space occupied as a result is released.