This article describes how to empty the recycle bin of a data room so that all files in the recycle bin (previously deleted files and previous versions of modified files) are permanently deleted, and the space occupied by them in the data room is freed up.
Who is allowed to empty the recycle bin?
The user in question must have the two permissions Read deleted items and file versions and Remove deleted items and file versions in the data room whose recycle bin is to be emptied. By default, only room administrators of the data room have these two permissions—other individual users/groups can be specifically granted these permissions if required.
Empty recycle bin of a data room
- Open the data room whose recycle bin you want to empty.
- Click the button next to the path bar and then click Recycle bin in the menu.
- Click Delete all in the right side pane (the command is visible only if no file is selected in the recycle bin).
- Confirm the security prompt by clicking Delete.
- All items in the recycle bin are permanently deleted, and the space previously occupied by them is freed in the data room.
Note that emptying the recycle bin permanently deletes all files and folders in the recycle bin and that this action cannot be undone.
Emptying the recycle bin only affects the active data room—it does not affect the recycle bins of other data rooms (including subrooms of the data room).