This article describes how to delete a group from DRACOON that is no longer needed.
Who is allowed to delete groups?
Only users who have the role Group manager are allowed to delete delete groups from DRACOON.
Delete a group
- Click Settings in the left sidebar and then Groups.
- Highlight the group you want to delete.
To quickly find a desired group, type part of the group name you are looking for at the top of the Search Group field and press the ENTER key.
- Click Delete Group in the right sidebar or in the context menu.
- Confirm the question whether you really want to delete the group by clicking Delete.
- The group is immediately deleted and removed from DRACOON.
- When a group is deleted, the permissions on data rooms attached to the group and all role assignments for the administration of DRACOON that the group held are removed from DRACOON. The former members of the deleted group remain however as separate users in DRACOON.
- A group can also be automatically deleted on a scheduled basis by setting an expiration date for the group (under Settings > Groups > Highlight desired group > Specify expiration date in the right sidebar).
However, a group cannot have an expiration date if the group is the only room administrator in a data room or the only owner of one of the roles for the administration of DRACOON ist.
- Eny group cannot be deleted as long as it is the only room administrator in a data room (each data room must always have at least one room administrator, which would no longer be the case here after deleting the group). In this case, a group member must first explicitly appoint another user or group as room administrator in the data rooms in question.
- A group can not be deleted if there is no user in DRACOON and there is no other group, which has a certain role to manage DRACOON innehat (wenn die Gruppe z.B. der einzige Auditor in DRACOON ist). In diesem Fall muss ein Mitglied der zu löschenden Gruppe erst die Rolle an einen anderen einen anderen Benutzer (oder eine Gruppe) übertragen, bevor die Gruppe gelöscht werden kann.