This article describes how to delete a user from DRACOON who is no longer needed (e.g. because he has left the company).
Who may delete users?
Only users who have the role of User Manager may delete users from DRACOON.
Delete a user
- Click Settings in the left sidebar. The user administration is displayed.
- If you want to delete a guest user, click the Guest User tab.
- Highlight the user you want to delete.
To quickly find a desired user, type part of the username you are looking for at the top of the Find User field and press ENTER.
- Click Delete user in the right sidebar or in the context menu.
- Confirm the question whether you really want to delete the user by clicking Delete.
- The user is immediately deleted and removed from DRACOON.
Was the user to be deleted authenticated via OpenID Connect or an Active Directory to DRACOON and possessed a personal data room, the the user's personal data space is permanently deleted when the user deletes it - files located in the personal data space are therefore irrevocably lost.
- Files, which the user had uploaded in DRACOON, are not deleted with the deletion of a user and remain there. Exception: The personal data space of the user (if available) is deleted automatically irrevocably with the deletion of the user and thus also all files contained therein.
- Shares and file requests that the user had created are preserved when the user is deleted and continue to work.
- A user can also be automatically deleted on a scheduled basis by setting a Expiration date set for the user.
- If a deleted user is needed later and created again in DRACOON, all his former data room permissions and group memberships are lost and have to be restored laboriously. Therefore, a user should only be deleted if he or she is certainly no longer needed - but it may make more sense to delete a user that is no longer needed user first of all to lock, to be able to reactivate it if necessary instead of deleting it permanently right away.
- A user cannot be deleted as long as he is the only room administrator in a data room (each data room must always have at least one room administrator, which would no longer be the case after deleting the user). In this case, the user to be deleted must first appoint another user of the data room as room administrator. If this is not possible because the user to be deleted is no longer available, the data room in question must be deleted; if other users have access to the data room, they could back up all data by downloading or copying it to another room before the room is deleted.
- Ein user cannot be deleted if he is the only user in DRACOON who has a specific Role to manage DRACOON (e.g. if he is the only auditor in DRACOON). In this case the user to be deleted must first transfer the role to another user (or a group) before he can be deleted.