Release date: December 14, 2020
About this release
Version 4.3.2 of DRACOON for Windows/Mac includes support for the updated client-side encryption and also contains some bug fixes.
No restart of the PC is required after the installation of this update.
The update to this version is recommended for all users of DRACOON for Windows/Mac.
Support for the updated client-side encryption (use of keys of length 4096 bit instead of 2048 bit)
Version 4.3.2 of DRACOON for Windows/Mac now supports 4096-bit keys for the client-side encryption, which ensures secure encryption for the long term. The new keys will be available with the next update of the DRACOON Web App.
If the decryption passwords of users are already stored in DRACOON for Windows/Mac, they are automatically updated to 4096 bit—in this case, it is not required to enter the decryption passwords once more in the DRACOON Web App to update them.
Learn more about the updated encryption
Version 4.3.2 of DRACOON for Windows/Mac continues to support the previously used 2048 bit file keys and is therefore still compatible with the current LTS release for on-premises customers—the recognition of the used key length is done automatically and requires no intervention by end-users or administrators.
The following problems were fixed in version 4.3.2 of DRACOON for Windows/Mac:
Most of these problems only occurred in specific cases, e.g. under certain exceptional circumstances. The vast majority of users were not affected.
- When opening a file, the modification date of the file was changed, even if the file was not edited afterward.
- When saving changes of a Photoshop file on the Mac, the existing file was not replaced, but a new file with the changes was created.
- If the case of a file was changed during renaming, the file might no longer be visible in File Explorer (the file was still present in DRACOON, however). This problem only occurred with on-premises versions of DRACOON.
- If files in an encrypted data room could not be synchronized at first due to missing file keys, after creating the file keys, synchronization had to be restarted by clicking "Retry" for each file individually; it was not possible to apply this immediately to the whole folder.
Article is closed for comments.