DRACOON for Outlook version 5.5 or later
With DRACOON for Outlook, you can track the status of your active shares and file requests, and if necessary, withdraw and delete them at any time.
In addition, you can copy the public share or file request links to the clipboard to later forward them to other persons for use, for example.
- In the Outlook ribbon, in the DRACOON group, click Options, and then click Shares (to view your existing shares) or File requests (to view your existing file requests).
- In the Shares dialog box, you can see all your shares that users can currently use to download the files that you shared.
In the File Requests dialog box, all data rooms and folders in DRACOON are listed that you have approved for upload and in which users are allowed to upload files.
- The Expiration date column indicates the last day on which download/upload will be possible. When the expiration date expires, the share or file request is automatically removed.
- In the Downloads or Uploads column, you can see how many times the file has already been downloaded via this share or how many files have already been uploaded via this file request. If the number of possible downloads or uploads is limited by this share or file request, this will also be displayed. Example: 2/10 downloads means that the file can be downloaded a maximum of 10 times and 2 of these downloads have already been consumed.
- The Password column specifies whether a password is required for download or upload.
The share or file request is password protected.
The share relates to an encrypted data room and is therefore automatically password protected (shares in encrypted data rooms must always be password protected; this is not required for file requests).
Click to the left next to an entry (or double-click an entry) to see more details, such as the exact location of the shared file in DRACOON.
Copy share or file request links for forwarding
It may often happen that you want to allow others to use an existing share or file request. To do so, you must provide the persons with the public share or file request link that they can use to call up the share or file request in their browser.
- Select the element whose share or file request link you want to copy. You can also select multiple items by pressing and holding the
Ctrlkey and clicking on the desired elements in order.
- Click the Copy link button.
- The share or file request link is copied to the clipboard and can be sent to the recipient via email or chat message, for example. In the destination application, press
Vto paste the copied share or file request link.
Pay attention to the Password column when forwarding share or file request links.
The icons or in the column indicate that this share or file request is password protected. In this case, it is not enough just to forward its link—you must also tell the recipient the password of the share or file request so that they can use it.
For security reasons, the password can not be retrieved later. If you have forgotten the password, you have to create a new share or file request, respectively.
If you are currently composing an email and open the Shares dialog box, the Insert in email button, which allows you to insert the share link directly into the email, appears instead of Copy link.
Withdraw and delete shares or file requests
If you want to prevent a currently active share or file request from being used, you can withdraw and delete it. A file shared for download can then, for example, no longer be downloaded via the share link.
- Select the share or file request you want to delete. You can also select multiple items by pressing and holding the
Ctrlkey and clicking the desired items in order.
- Click the Delete link button.
- Confirm the security prompt.
- The selected shares or file requests are permanently deleted.
If you delete a share or file request, the shared item itself is not deleted. A shared file can then no longer be downloaded via the share, but remains stored in DRACOON and can be shared again later. You would then create a new share link—a share link that has been deleted cannot be reused. The same accounts for file requests.
Article is closed for comments.